Collecting Antiquities in France in the 19th Century (14 Dec, 2021)

The Society for the History of Collecting  Invites you to its Online Lecture  Collecting Antiquities in France in the 19th century: the importance of the study of auction sales  by Cécile Colonna Tuesday 14 December at  7:30pm CET // 6:30pm GMT // 1:30pm EST // 10:30am PST   The collector of works of art, original in … Continue reading Collecting Antiquities in France in the 19th Century (14 Dec, 2021)

International research workshop “Fakes in the art market” (online, June 21, 9h-18h CEST promoted by Alma Mater Studiorum – University of Bologna)

Part of the ISA Topic 2020 – “Il falso” Project: “Art of fake, fake in art and in the art market” https://artmarketfakesworkshop.wordpress.com/ Fakes and forgeries are items that characterized the art sector since the birth of the art market. Artwork copies, fakes and forgeries (almost) freely circulate in the art market and affect the way … Continue reading International research workshop “Fakes in the art market” (online, June 21, 9h-18h CEST promoted by Alma Mater Studiorum – University of Bologna)

Review: ‘Emerging research workshop: New approaches to women collectors’

Genevieve Drinkwater, MA Student, History of Design Masters, V&A/RCA Often damaged, dismantled, or dispersed at auction, sources supporting the existence of collections amassed by women in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries are often scarce. However, a small community of scholars have begun to piece together the elusive scraps of history left behind by elite women … Continue reading Review: ‘Emerging research workshop: New approaches to women collectors’

CFP: The Art of the Dealer (London, 26 June 20)

Subject: CFP: The Art of the Dealer (London, 26 Jun 20) Masterpiece Art Fair, London, June 26, 2020 Deadline: Mar 10, 2020 The Art of the Dealer: Selling Antique Ceramics The French Porcelain Society is proud to announce its second study morning at the prestigious Masterpiece Fair to be held on Friday, 26th June 2020. … Continue reading CFP: The Art of the Dealer (London, 26 June 20)

SEM: Collecting and Display: Pioneering New York Art Dealers and the Genesis of the American Auction Style (10 February 2020, London)

COLLECTING AND DISPLAY SEMINAR INSTITUTE OF HISTORICAL RESEARCH 6.00pm in Room 304 Monday, 10th February, 2020 Alycen Mitchell, Queen Mary, University of London Pioneering New York Art Dealers and the Genesis of the American Auction Style This paper focuses on the 19th century genesis of the American art and antiques auction to examine the origin … Continue reading SEM: Collecting and Display: Pioneering New York Art Dealers and the Genesis of the American Auction Style (10 February 2020, London)