SHC Lecture: Object-Oriented Manias and the Barricaded Back Room (11 November 2021, 6pm GMT)

The Society for the History of Collecting Invites you to its Online Lecture THURSDAY, 11 NOVEMBER, 2021 6pm (GMT), 1pm (EST) Object-Oriented Manias and the Barricaded Back Room by Dr. Rebecca Falkoff, Affiliated Scholar. Brown University In early nineteenth century France, collections spilled forth from curiosity cabinets, grand galleries, personal libraries, and literary texts and … Continue reading SHC Lecture: Object-Oriented Manias and the Barricaded Back Room (11 November 2021, 6pm GMT)

CONF: The Long History of Claims for the Return of Cultural Heritage from Colonial Contexts (German Lost Art Foundation / online, 17-19 Nov 2021)

This year’s online conference of the German Lost Art Foundation (kulturgutverluste.de) – organized in cooperation with the Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz and the Research Center for Material Culture of the National Museum of World Cultures, the Netherlands – will address “The Long History of Claims for the Return of Cultural Heritage from Colonial Contexts”. The current … Continue reading CONF: The Long History of Claims for the Return of Cultural Heritage from Colonial Contexts (German Lost Art Foundation / online, 17-19 Nov 2021)

Seminar for Collecting and Display: Lady Charlotte Anne Montagu Douglas Scott (11 October 2021, 6pm BST)

The Seminar for Collecting and Display will hold its next seminar on Monday, 11th October, at 6 p.m. by zoom  “I find so much to do about the house” - Lady Charlotte Anne Montagu Douglas Scott née Thynne (1811-1895) and her instrumental role in the reconstruction of Montagu House, a Victorian London Town House (1863–1939) … Continue reading Seminar for Collecting and Display: Lady Charlotte Anne Montagu Douglas Scott (11 October 2021, 6pm BST)

Seminar Collection: “The Case of the Boban-Goupil collection” (26 October, 2021)

  Seminar Collection "Reflections on the collectionism and trade of pre-Columbian antiquities in Paris during the second half of the 19th century. The case of the Boban-Goupil collection" Tuesday 26 October, 2021 Online 6.30-8pm CEST // 5.30-7pm BST // 12.30-2pm EDT// 9.30-11am PDT   Speaker: Susana Stüssi Garcia (Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne)   Reflections on collecting … Continue reading Seminar Collection: “The Case of the Boban-Goupil collection” (26 October, 2021)

Italian Chapter of The Society for the History Of Collecting: The London Gallery, 1938-1950: Collecting and Patronage of Surrealist Art in Britain (8 October 2021, 6.30pm BST)

The Italian Chapter of The Society for the History Of Collecting Invites you to its Online Lecture The London Gallery, 1938-1950: Collecting and Patronage of Surrealist Art in Britain Caterina Caputo (University of Florence) 8 October 6.30pm (BST), 7.30pm (CEST) 1.30pm (EST) The interior of the London Gallery during the exhibition “F.E. McWilliam”, March 1939. Courtesy Getty Research … Continue reading Italian Chapter of The Society for the History Of Collecting: The London Gallery, 1938-1950: Collecting and Patronage of Surrealist Art in Britain (8 October 2021, 6.30pm BST)