Review: The Emergence of the Antique and Curiosity Dealer in Britain 1815–1850: The Commodification of Historical Objects

The Emergence of the Antique and Curiosity Dealer in Britain 1815–1850: The Commodification of Historical Objects By Mark Westgarth, 2020. London : Routledge, 192 pp., 36 b/w illustrations. £120 (hardback) £36.99 (eBook), ISBN 9781409405795 (hardback) ISBN 9781003028147 (ebook) - Imogen Tedbury ‘The place through which he made his way at leisure was one of those … Continue reading Review: The Emergence of the Antique and Curiosity Dealer in Britain 1815–1850: The Commodification of Historical Objects

Review: Pioneers of the Global Art Market: Paris-Based Dealer Networks, 1850-1950

Pioneers of the Global Art Market: Paris-Based Dealer Networks, 1850-1950 Ed. Christel H. Force, 2020. London : Bloomsbury, 288pp., 16 colour & 56 b/w illustrations. Hardback £90, Paperback £24.99, eBook and/or EPUB £81. ISBN 9781501342769 (hardback), ISBN 9781350282841 (paperback), ISBN 9781501342776 (eBook), ISBN 9781501342783 (eBook & EPUB)  - Marie Tavinor This book, edited by Christel … Continue reading Review: Pioneers of the Global Art Market: Paris-Based Dealer Networks, 1850-1950

The Spirit of Innovation: Photography and New Media at Stanford’s Cantor Arts Center (2 Dec, 2021)

The West Coast Chapter of the Society for the History of Collecting Invites you to its Online Lecture The Spirit of Innovation: Photography and New Media at  Stanford University’s Cantor Arts Center by Maggie Dethloff, Assistant Curator of Photography and New Media Iris and B. Gerald Cantor Center for Visual Arts at Stanford University Thursday, 2 December … Continue reading The Spirit of Innovation: Photography and New Media at Stanford’s Cantor Arts Center (2 Dec, 2021)

Collecting Antiquities in France in the 19th Century (14 Dec, 2021)

The Society for the History of Collecting  Invites you to its Online Lecture  Collecting Antiquities in France in the 19th century: the importance of the study of auction sales  by Cécile Colonna Tuesday 14 December at  7:30pm CET // 6:30pm GMT // 1:30pm EST // 10:30am PST   The collector of works of art, original in … Continue reading Collecting Antiquities in France in the 19th Century (14 Dec, 2021)

Call for Papers: Journal for Provenance Research and the History of Collection

Call for Papers: Transfer – Journal for Provenance Research and the History of Collection The online journal transfer is an academic publication platform in the area of provenance research and the history of collection as well as adjacent fields of investigation, like art market studies, reception history, cultural sociology and legal history. Annual issues will … Continue reading Call for Papers: Journal for Provenance Research and the History of Collection