The Society for the History of Collecting: Collections and Impermanence: Transfer, Exchange and Disposal (10 and 17 November 2022)

The Society for the History of Collecting are pleased to invite you to its PhD and Early Career Researcher Workshop *(open to all) Collections and Impermanence: Transfer, Exchange and Disposal online on Thursday 10th November (5.30-7.45pm GMT; 6.30-8.45pm CET; 12:45-2:45pm EST; 9:45-10:45am PST) and in-person (hybrid) on Thursday 17th November (12-5pm GMT; 1-6pm CET; 7am-12pm EST; 4-9am PST) … Continue reading The Society for the History of Collecting: Collections and Impermanence: Transfer, Exchange and Disposal (10 and 17 November 2022)

Harvard Art Museums: Collections and Reconsiderations (14 Apr, 2022)

The Society for the History of Collecting invites you to its online lecture   Organised by the West Coast Chapter Harvard Art Museums: Collections and Reconsiderations Miriam Stewart, Harvard Art Museums Thursday, 14 April 2022, 11 am (PT)/1 pm (CT)/2 pm (ET)/7 pm (BST), 8 pm (CET)   Harvard’s Fogg Art Museum opened its doors … Continue reading Harvard Art Museums: Collections and Reconsiderations (14 Apr, 2022)

‘Alessandro Contini Bonacossi, Antiquario (1878-1955)’ (17 Dec, 2021)

The Society for the History of Collecting Invites you to its Online Lecture ‘Alessandro Contini Bonacossi, Antiquario (1878-1955)’ by Fulvia Zaninelli, Research Associate The Center for Advanced Studies in the Visual Art, National Gallery of Art, Washington DC   Friday 17th December, 2021 at 5.30pm GMT // 6.30pm CET // 1.30pm EST // 10.30am PST … Continue reading ‘Alessandro Contini Bonacossi, Antiquario (1878-1955)’ (17 Dec, 2021)

Collection/Séminaire sur le collectionnisme et le marché de l’art 

COLLECTION / Séminaire sur le collectionnisme et le marché de l’art Honoré Daumier, Les Amateurs, 1865-1868, Walters Art Museum (CCO) APPEL À COMMUNICATION Les organisateurs de Collection/Séminaire sur le collectionnisme et le marché de l’art, lancent un appel à communication pour les séances mensuelles du séminaire en 2022. Depuis sa fondation en 2020 le séminaire Collection entend être un … Continue reading Collection/Séminaire sur le collectionnisme et le marché de l’art 

Review: Diversifying the History of Collecting – Collecting the Sacred

Review of Diversifying the History of Collecting: Collecting the Sacred: Art, Belief and Identity Emerging Scholars Workshop, 2nd March 2021 The processes behind the acquisition, display and gifting of religious art and sacred decorative objects dominated the subject of the most recent Emerging Scholars Research workshop. Four papers were devoted to the respectful interrogation of different cultural traditions, beliefs and identities and in turn, how the aggregation of religiously charged art collections should be approached in … Continue reading Review: Diversifying the History of Collecting – Collecting the Sacred